ADVERTISEMENT

Afghanistan - what a mess by Biden and Trump...

ribbont

All-American
Mar 23, 2006
I have no idea if Trump's exit plan would have better but I am pretty sure it could not have been worse than the mess Biden has us in. But Trump put him in this position, so he bears blame as well.

I am no expert AT ALL in Afghan foreign policy but giving back the country to the Taliban cannot be a good thing.

Good opinion article here.

I will disagree, this is the one thing Trump did right. We have spent almost 20 years building an Afghan Army. We have been training and supplying them for a LONG time. If they can't win now, the current country is a failed state. We can't sit there forcing a government on the people that the people don't want.

I will disagree, this is the one thing Trump did right. We have spent almost 20 years building an Afghan Army. We have been training and supplying them for a LONG time. If they can't win now, the current country is a failed state. We can't sit there forcing a government on the people that the people don't want.
one thing we need to do is after they completely take over is send in drones to blow up our equipment , puts a pit in my stomach watching the Taliban driving down the street in Humvees we all paid for

This.

The Pashtuns are the only people willing to truly fight for the country. We could have been there another decade or two, in a state of constant low intensity conflict, and still have the same result.

I agree but why did Trump pick May 1? And Biden accelerate the withdrawal? From what I heard/read, fall or winter would have been a much better time to withdraw.

I agree to get out but the execution has been a total cluster by Biden.

I have no idea if Trump's exit plan would have better but I am pretty sure it could not have been worse than the mess Biden has us in. But Trump put him in this position, so he bears blame as well.