ADVERTISEMENT

Student Athlete will not be a thing in 5 years.

Cavanagh

Hall of Famer
Mar 1, 2012

Players dont even care anymore. They are blatantly calling out what a joke it is. Go to the end of this clip. CG responds to a tweet saying he needs to graduate, basically saying I graduated last year. I am in grad school now. Really I only take one class. Its on Wednesdays at 7, haven't been in a few weeks. LOL. ONE class is all they require. Just a joke.

When I was growing up, I always thought the rule was you had to be a full-time student, Ie minimum of 12 credit hours, to be eligible to play. Like George Costanza, I guess I’m living in the past. Hung up on some clown from the 60s. Bozo the clown. (hopefully Seinfeld fans get the reference, I don’t have to post a YouTube clip.)

CG admits that he’s barely even a college student at this point.

When I was growing up, I always thought the rule was you had to be a full-time student, Ie minimum of 12 credit hours, to be eligible to play. Like George Costanza, I guess I’m living in the past. Hung up on some clown from the 60s. Bozo the clown. (hopefully Seinfeld fans get the reference, I don’t have to post a YouTube clip.)

CG admits that he’s barely even a college student at this point.
It's markedly different for undergrads.

Reactions: iu papa
It’s about time to privatize the entire basketball scene. Get the burden off the tax payers and let the people who want to be involved own it.

Reactions: Tscurlo and Jssanto
Ok that makes sense. Sort of. But also says the “graduate student”’status to maintain eligibility is a bit of a farce. These guys aren’t working towards any graduate degree. This guy in particular is just taking one class to maintain athletic eligibility. Maybe I’m naïve, but this is quite the eye-opener.