ADVERTISEMENT

White Democrat meets black Republican

CO. Hoosier

Hall of Famer
Aug 29, 2001
Read how a black Republican candidate responds to a white congressional Democrat's statement about understanding our nation’s black experience and how to combat systemic racism.

A few quotes:

My opponent’s virtue signaling insults me, and it should insult you too. Dean Phillips got his degree in Urban Studies from an Ivy League School in the Northeast. I got my degree in Urban Studies from the streets of Harlem in New York City.

my opponent and his progressive comrades across the nation are using the tragic death of George Floyd to fuel the flames of racism and create a smoke screen to cover up how they failed our cities, our country, and the Black community.

My opponent can independently fund his political campaign from his trust fund. In fact, he already has. Do I begrudge him for his wealth? No, because this is America and everyone has a right to pursue prosperity and happiness. But I do take umbrage at his characterization of America given all that this country has given me and my family.

I’m not afraid to tell you that life isn’t fair. Like all countries, America has its imperfections. But with faith and hard work, you have the freedom in this country to overcome your circumstances and build a better life. I’m proof of it. I want to protect the freedom that allowed my opponent’s family to prosper, allowed me and my family to improve our lot in life, and make sure that freedom is here so you and your family can prosper too.

Last edited:
new_big_ken_and_karen_ebp3u4cxgaih5su.jpg
Other than "guns", what does the word "freedom" mean to Republicans?

Read how a black Republican candidate responds to a white congressional Democrat's statement about understanding our nation’s black experience and how to combat systemic racism.

A few quotes: