ADVERTISEMENT

An article about the shuttle disaster

I remember being told by our principal. I was in 6th grade. Buddy of mine kept laughing because he thought it was a joke since our principal always joked around with us.

And yea, I remember a lot of those jokes. If I recall, that time was around the, "No, Bud Light" commercials. So, one of the jokes punchlines was just that.

I remember several more and of course, thought they were funny at the time.

talks about the causes and the horror people, including school children, who were watching felt. Near the end of the article, the author talks about the crude jokes that circulated. For some reason, I do not remember them, but they seem like some one could find on this forum.
http://kottke.org/16/01/on-the-30th-anniversary-of-the-space-shuttle-challenger-disaster
Knew about the O-ring stuff, I studied that in college in one of my classes. Didn't know about the crew surviving until they hit the water. That's really interesting.

The joke I remember hearing was that Christa McAuliffe had dandruff because they found her head and shoulders on the beach

Knew about the O-ring stuff, I studied that in college in one of my classes. Didn't know about the crew surviving until they hit the water. That's really interesting.

The joke I remember hearing was that Christa McAuliffe had dandruff because they found her head and shoulders on the beach
And her eyes were blue. One blew east, one blue west.

I had heard about the real possibility they survived the explosion and at least some died on impact with the ocean. I didn't realize that "uh oh" was the last comment on the flight recorder. That isn't something that would be said in the early stages of a flight without cause.

How come NASA only drinks Sprite?

Because they couldn't get 7 Up.

That's the one I remember. Was in Elementary school when it happened. Teachers brought everyone into the auditorium to watch the launch. Yeah, that wasn't a good day.

Last edited: