ADVERTISEMENT

SEZ and other facility updates...

They don't have any golf events in Bloomington because the course is so bad. IU only hosts maybe one tourney a year and it is done off site. I cannot understand how they recruit any kids to play golf here.
Your comments raise the question of why IU even needs a golf course. I played it when I was a student many years ago and found it enjoyably challenging, but as times have changed it might make sense to "repurpose" the acreage and use another course(public or private) for IU golf team competition. What do you think?

Reactions: travlinhoosier
Your comments raise the question of why IU even needs a golf course. I played it when I was a student many years ago and found it enjoyably challenging, but as times have changed it might make sense to "repurpose" the acreage and use another course(public or private) for IU golf team competition. What do you think?
It's already going to be renovated. There's no reason for a Big Ten university and for Bloomington not to have a quality golf course.

It's been in rough (pun!) shape for years.

Reactions: codylance
They don't have any golf events in Bloomington because the course is so bad. IU only hosts maybe one tourney a year and it is done off site. I cannot understand how they recruit any kids to play golf here.
I have played the IU course many times. It is a very old design that really is entirely outdated. It was outdated in the '70s. No water, no undulations in the greens. They put the greens on hillsides because back when they built it they could not get the speed up and needed excessive slope to make them challenging. Now if they try to make the greens fast they become unplayable. Not a good course.