ADVERTISEMENT

Another one crosses the Rainbow Bridge

iubud

Hall of Famer
Aug 7, 2003
I'm new to the Rainbow Bridge reference, but that is where my sweet Indy went yesterday. At 14, she had a disc rupture in her back. She was having difficulty Friday, but seemed better on Saturday. At 4:00 a.m. Sunday she woke us up crying. She could get up but was barely walking. By morning she didn't want to move. She started crying again and we took her to the Emergency Pet Hospital where I made the decision. I said goodbye and she opened her eyes, looked around, then at me and closed her eyes for good. She was very peaceful from the minute she got there. She knew I was going to help her.

Indy was a Siberian Husky. I enjoyed watching her run and leap over bushes and while the pool cover was on, she would leap from one edge and nearly cross the entire width. She was an athletic dog and the best Birthday present I have ever received. My mom and dad drove 3 hours one way on the day of my Birthday party to pick Indy up. My mom (that I lost 9 months ago) held her the entire way to our house. They had a special bond. Indy was 6 days short of living with us for 14 years. I am trying to cancel my Birthday party this weekend. Someone won't be there and it is too soon for me.

It is also too soon for another dog. My friend sent me information on a litter of Sibes nearby, but I am not ready. It took a year before we got Indy after our first dog Hoosier passed away. We have had 2 dogs in our marriage and I have picked them both. My wife wants a Golden Doodle like my daughter's dog. It is her turn to pick a dog an I would be happy with that, but nothing would make me laugh or be happier than when my Indy was showing off for me. Don't be surprised to see me hug a Siberian Husky the next time I see one.

RIP Indiana Spirit of Hoosier. You brightened our lives for the 14 years we were together.