ADVERTISEMENT

RIP Bob Knight

We knew it was coming but, why did this shock me/scare me when I saw multiple 'Coach Knight' topics trending.

Wasn't he at practice a few weeks ago?

Man, again we knew it was coming and, we all have it coming as no one is getting out of here alive but still, damn.

😭😭😭

They'd better bury him upside down.

This is crushing. I was a freshman on campus when Coach was hired. We were watching the press conference on WISH-TV when Bill Orwig said, “We’re here to announce today that the new men’s basketball coach at Indiana University will be Bob Knight.”

The camera then switched over to Coach as we said, “Who?”

We didn’t know. We didn’t remember him from the great Lucas/Havlicek/Siegfried teams at Ohio State. But as the camera panned over we saw the deep, penetrating dark eyes and the intensity radiated through the black&white TV.

We learned, though. Damn, did we learn. We were the Hurryin’ Hoosiers.

What the fvck was defense?

We’ll never see another.

We were in Athens, Georgia today, shopping. Stopped at one of the clubhouse bars before heading home. Heard Brett Baer announce it as we were driving home and almost wrecked the car. My bride is concerned as the tears are flowing. I just didn’t think this would happen so soon.

Go with God, Coach.

The first story I ever heard about Coach Knight was about an Army basketball practice. Some officer showed up in the gym to run laps during practice. Coach Knight asked him to leave until after practice. The officer pulled rank and said the gym was basically always “open“ to the military guys. He kept running. Knight allegedly started throwing basketballs against the wall just in front of the guys head. When the guy yelled “WTF are you doing,” Knight allegedly said that after practice, this was what he did during open gym.

I doubt if it was true, but I want it to be.