ADVERTISEMENT

Neil Peart dead at 67 from brain cancer

There was no drummer who was more influential to me than Neil Peart.

In my high school years as I was learning to play drums, I used to meticulously memorize individual fills of Rush songs (as all budding drummers did back then), trying as best I could to emulate his virtuosity. Of course I couldn't live up to it, but simply trying stretched me as a player.

My first real drum kit was custom-built to Neil's specs by the same builder who built Neil's show kits back then, out of a drum shop in Fort Wayne, IN. I was always so proud of that and would brag about it. The guy's name was also Neil though I can't remember his last name right now.

In later years as a gigging drummer, I would sometimes incorporate little bits and pieces of riffs and techniques I learned from Neil into my repertoire - even if only for my own amusement knowing no one else would recognize them.

RIP Neil Peart. You are my hero, and thank you for inspiring me.

When we are young
Wandering the face of the earth
Wondering what our dreams might be worth
Learning that we're only immortal
For a limited time

Reactions: Cream&Crimson
45 years of writing lyrics and there was always at least one that seemed to speak to me at any given time in my life.

Everyone would gather
On the twenty fourth of May
Sitting in the sand
To watch the fireworks display
Dancing fires on the beach
Singing songs together
Though it's just a memory
Some memories last forever

From Lakeside Park. The first Rush album I ever heard was "All The World's A Stage," and it was transformative. I love the version of Lakeside Park from that live album.

Reactions: .Gerdis
My mom wanted me to play an instrument. She could play many instruments and wanted me to learn one. I took piano lessons but the old lady that started teaching me passed away. The next lady was an old maid that I did not like. When my mom saw it was useless, she let me stop.