ADVERTISEMENT

Just finished watching the HD versions of the Wire on HBO

Phoxie

Senior
Sep 4, 2001
This is my first time to watch it since it was on "live", and I can say that it is ever better when you can watch it in a short period. The characters in it are second to none and the attention to detail is extraordinary. Just amazing work.
That being sais, it is still hard for me to pick between the Wire and the Sopranos. The Sopranos won me over when Tony pulled in to his house singing along with Layla jamming on the radio in his Suburban; only to be met by a wife that was PO'ed and having to dive into kid trouble. I was living that life, without the violence.
#1 has to be Breaking Bad - it was excellent on so many levels, and was more intense that any show has ever contemplated.
I think The Wire and The Sopranos are 2A and 2B.

Happy New Year to all in Andy's No Nip Tribute to Erin Trailer Park

I prefer The Wire for its huge number of very well acted characters, realism, and gutsy commentary on the challenges of a city.

Breaking Bad builds incredible tension, but there are several so so episodes that lead up to the big finale.

I put The Wire at #1 and BB at #2.

Depends what the viewer prefers.
Posted from Rivals Mobile

We finished Breaking Bad yesterday and started Sons of Anarchy today.

I'm not sure if The Wire is on Netflix but I'll check it out.

Having seen all of those series

Nothing comes close, IMHO, to the 1st 3 seasons of The Wire. If you consider True Detective a series, I'd take it over anything, although it was kind of a let down at the end.

The Wire - For The Win, and its Not Even Close

The characters, the realism, the writing, the acting - The Wire blows them competition away.

Breaking Bad's main characters were good, but some of the scenarios and minor characters were not believable.

The Soprano's was sometimes flat out boring.

JMO