ADVERTISEMENT

Flat-earthers are symptomatic of our times

sglowrider

Hall of Famer
Gold Member
Apr 9, 2012
Tiny Red Dot
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/...es-rocket-launch-man-blasts-off-a8272761.html

A self-taught rocket man who believes the earth is flat blasted himself 1,875 feet into the air, in an effort to reach orbit and reassure himself the world is shaped "like a Frisbee".

ap-18084048060280.jpg

'Mad' Mike Hughes is carried on a stretcher after his homemade rocket launched and returned to the ground near Amboy, California on Saturday, March 24 (AP)

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/...es-rocket-launch-man-blasts-off-a8272761.html

A self-taught rocket man who believes the earth is flat blasted himself 1,875 feet into the air, in an effort to reach orbit and reassure himself the world is shaped "like a Frisbee".

ap-18084048060280.jpg

'Mad' Mike Hughes is carried on a stretcher after his homemade rocket launched and returned to the ground near Amboy, California on Saturday, March 24 (AP)

He probably thinks he confirmed his theory by impacting the ground in a seemingly flat attitude ;):D

Reactions: sglowrider
https://www.independent.co.uk/voice...mingham-fake-news-science-facts-a8336946.html
I watched an entire flat Earth convention – here's what I learned
Flat earthers do seem to place a lot of emphasis and priority on scientific methods and, in particular, on observable facts.

While flat earthers seem to trust and support scientific methods, what they don’t trust is scientists, and the established relationships between “power” and “knowledge”. This relationship between power and knowledge has long been theorised by sociologists. By exploring this relationship, we can begin to understand why there is a swelling resurgence of flat earthers.