ADVERTISEMENT

After reading all the below give and take in

Scott S

Sophomore
Aug 28, 2001
regards to the uproar over the passage of RFRA, I have decided to throw out a general query in what I assume in my ignorance of the minutia and technical aspects of the law which is a lame attempt to say I am not a lawyer, btw.

But what if our Government simply recused itself from the marriage business altogether and instead recognized a legal union as been between two adults of sound mind that grants the same rights an privledges?

This way you can not have a religious objection to serve anyone, on a personal side note when I become a business owner I will require one thing, the fair trade of resources or in other words if you got the money you got my whatever I am selling.

That would be silly right?

Oh, thanks in advance if you choose to respond, oops got to run Penny has two strikes and this is a hilarious episode I am a Big Bang Theory Fan.

I have thought this for years...

I am a conservative Christian and I think only thing Christians should be concerned about in regards to marriage is the commitment made by the couple to God. The legal side of things has nothing to do with religion anymore. Christians shouldn't want the government meddling in one of our sacred rites. They don't meddle in any of our other rites? So why this one?

With that said, I don't think this is going to happen.

The problem is this...

Marriage isn't, and never has been, a purely religious rite. It's important to religion, sure, but it's always been a civil relationship. When you start talking about getting the government out of the marriage business and into "civil unions," what you're really saying is you don't like the idea of same-sex couples using the word "marriage," because limiting the use of the word to a religious context is the only practical effect of such a change.

You are correct, in our country, it hasn't been...